Guest Reviews

Charlotte, US
Reviewed: Oct 11, 2017
Property
Really cute house. Very clean and new. Great location. Highly recommend.
View Property: Treetops-Cottage
Charlotte, US
Reviewed: Oct 11, 2017
Property
What a wonderful place to stay! We loved our time at the Cleghorn Condo! We'll definitely be back again!
View Property: Clegwood Townhome
Crestview, US
Reviewed: Oct 11, 2017
Property
Great spot close to Lake Lure, amazing view!
View Property: Mountain Blessings
Okatie, US
Reviewed: Oct 11, 2017
Property
Beautiful cabin. A great getaway.
View Property: River Ridge Retreat
Largo, US
Reviewed: Oct 11, 2017
Property
It is the best experience I have ever had with my family, the place is unique, the songs of the birds upon waking, the green trees so tall and beautiful, the log cabin with an unforgettable smell to home, is a home that I would like to return to. Thank you
View Property: Carolina Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 10, 2017
Property Manager
Property
View Property: Alicia`s Dream
Reviewed: Oct 10, 2017
Property Manager
Property
This was our second visit. It's so quiet and clean and modern with antique charm.
View Property: Alluring-Lake-Cottage
Reviewed: Oct 10, 2017
Property Manager
By the way, there is a huge difference in customer service between Tryon Retreats and the other rental companies in the area (from Landrum to Lake Lure)believe me. Hands down you are the best. The cleanliness alone is a major factor. Never have I stayed in a cleaner rental home. Just wanted to give your company kudos.
Reviewed: Oct 2, 2017
Property Manager
I am always impressed with the people and the service I receive at Tryon Retreats.
Reviewed: Sep 17, 2017
Property
Spectacular! I have rented many properties through HomeAway, but this one is a crown jewel! The architecture, decor, and livability of this home makes for a classy yet comfortable mountain experience. The view is a Hawk's world with at least 180 degrees of expansive Blue Ridge landscape. We most enjoyed the great room, kitchen and decks which provide plentiful conversation spaces for a large group. We cooked in the well-appointed kitchen, chilled in the hot tub, made s'mores in the fireplace, and walked up to the waterfall. What else can you ask for?
View Property: Hawks-View
Largo, FL, US
Reviewed: Sep 12, 2017
Property
Cute place w 2 nice bedrooms, good communication, and walking distance to town. An easy 20min drive to Horse Park.
View Property: Treetops-Cottage
Charlotte, US
Reviewed: Sep 12, 2017
Property
Great stay. Nice place. Wish I knew beforehand the golf course nearby was public and I would have brought my clubs. Cell phone service was spotty but the townhouse had wifi and satellite tv.
View Property: Clegwood Townhome
Reviewed: Sep 10, 2017
Property Manager
First class team.
Property
Quietly Elegant - Situated on a leafy hillside above downtown Tryon, this newly constructed home designed by a well-known local architect provides comfort and seclusion. Very thoughtfully designed, with a great kitchen and spacious screened porch. Highly recommended!
View Property: Alicia`s Dream
Reviewed: Aug 9, 2017
Property Manager
Hi Melanie, It's been crazy with trying to be certain all loved ones safe. I wanted to thank you for your quick response on Tuesday to me as well as for your cottage here in delightful Tryon. In this scary time, your home and the wonderful, kind people here have been so appreciated. We don't know what we will face after the storm, but for now - we could not be in a better place. God bless you!
Reviewed: Aug 4, 2017
Property Manager
I will be back soon. You will love working with the property managers without a doubt.
Property
Sanctuary by name and design I have stayed at this property many times. Each and every visit has proven to be a wonderful experience beyond any of my expectations. Meticulously manicured, gorgeously decorated, and fully equipped to pamper you and your guests. The views are spectacular, the hiking is breathtaking, the trails are bountiful, and the property is a wonderful sight for the city eyes. You will not be disappointed in any way with the Green River Sanctuary. Whether it is a quiet time of reflection, visiting the abundant local attractions, or a family reunion, there are plenty of things to do for folks of all ages. The Tryon Equestrian Center, Chimney Rock, Lake Lure, the Biltmore house, quaint small towns with plenty of shopping, and great eateries provide a fantastic experience.
View Property: Green-River-Sanctuary
Reviewed: Aug 1, 2017
Property
Nice Lake Lure getaway Great cozy house with all the amenities. Great lake views and awesome lake access outside your door. Stairs are steep for older or people with disabilities to get to lake (but all Lake Lure is like that), but also very convenient to get from car to main floor. Would like to come in summer to take more advantage of the lake activities but really nice for autumn as well.
View Property: Alluring-Lake-Cottage
Alpharetta, GA, US
Reviewed: Aug 1, 2017
Property
This place is AMAZING... IV been here on a couple occasions, hunting trip, family vacation.. This place is as good as it gets.. Beautiful scenery, the place is immaculate... Love going here..
View Property: Green-River-Sanctuary
Canton, US
Reviewed: Jul 25, 2017
Property
Beautiful lake cottage I loved being able to stay at your beautiful lake cottage. Very quiet and peaceful and beautiful view of the lake. The cottage itself had all of the amenities we could ask for, for our girlfriend getaway. The home is very beautiful with such a warm, cozy feel. Enjoyed it completely. Thank you so much.
View Property: Alluring-Lake-Cottage
Reviewed: Jul 10, 2017
Property Manager
I loved working with Tryon Retreats because their service feels incredibly personal and they are already very aware of the specific needs and desires of equestrian clients.
Property
Horse Show Trip Turned VACATION! I recently stayed at Hawk's View for one week (Monday to Monday) while in town for a summer horse show at Tryon International Equestrian Center and had a fantastic experience. The house has every amenity you could possibly need, including a beautiful and modern kitchen (fully equipped with all the essentials!), spacious and comfortable living spaces, internet and TV, washer/dryer, cozy bedrooms (the master has an AMAZING walk-in closet for long stays and a beautiful bathroom!), and more. The house is exactly as the photos appear and also immaculately clean and well-managed. Perhaps my favorite parts of the house were the two balconies, both off of separate living spaces on two different floors - perfect if you are sharing the house with multiple families or just want the kids to have their own separate space to decompress. The drive up and down the mountain to the Equestrian Center was a breeze - 15-20 minutes maximum - and it's also nice that the commute passes through the town of Columbus so you can grab whatever you need at the grocery store, CVS, gas station, a bite to eat, all while on the way. There are plenty of great restaurants and little towns with fun shops to explore nearby, but you may end up loving the views from the balconies so much that you opt to make a meal yourself in the fabulous kitchen and enjoy it outside. While I personally was in town for the horse show, Hawk's View would make the perfect retreat for a girls' weekend, relaxed honeymoon in the mountains, or family reunion. It's a versatile rental with amenities that are equal to (and maybe even surpass...) a five-star hotel, and no matter what you are in town for, you will feel like you are on vacation at Hawk's View!
View Property: Hawks-View
Louisville, US
Reviewed: Jul 2, 2017
Property
This is more than a getaway, this is luxury, entertainment, comfort, and peace. My stays have left me not wanting to leave. What more can you say for a place? The beauty of the south with close easy access to a world class equestrian center (Tryon International Equestrian Center) Can't wait to go back.
View Property: Green-River-Sanctuary
Reviewed: Jun 19, 2017
Property Manager
This is my 4th booking with Tryon Retreats. Always a pleasure!
Property
Nature Lover - I have stayed at the Green River Sanctuary numerous times and it is my favorite retreat in the Carolinas. I love sitting by the river and watching for river otter or deer and hiking the many trails on the property. The home offers every amenity imaginable and offers privacy, security, and enjoyment during any season of the year. The property is located within an easy drive to many of NC's must see places....Boone, Blowing Rock, Grandfather Mountain, Asheville, the furniture market in Hickory, and of course the new Tryon Equestrian Center
View Property: Green-River-Sanctuary
Houston, US
Reviewed: Jun 4, 2017
Property Manager
Every detail was covered and we didn't lack a single thing. We are pleased to give an enthusiastic two thumbs up!
Property
Awesome Retreat!!! My wife and I spent 2 weeks here and enjoyed every moment. From the clean, luxurious amenities of the home to the quiet, secure, and serene location in the NC hills, everything was first class. The grounds were spectacular in the Fall and so very well groomed. The property is very easy to access, but is so large and well appointed that privacy and security are assured and no concern at all. We enjoyed walking the many trails easily accessed from the house leading to hilltop woods and sleepy meadows. The river that runs adjacent to the property is also a peaceful retreat as well as the creek and pond. The screened in porch and second story deck overlooking the pond are great spots to grill and enjoy the outdoors at mealtime. The electric ignition fireplace and the clear story windows in the living room are the perfect compliment to this luxury mountain retreat. Beyond the amenities of the property itself, it is located perfectly between Chalotte and Ashville so accessing the offerings of both cities is easy and within an hour's drive. The quaint small towns nearer the property are also a short, but enjoyable drive down country roads. The antique and craft shopping possibilities are endless. Local restaurants are few, but there are gems to be found. Most of all, we enjoyed the invitation to relax at this beautiful, well appointed, and spacious mountain retreat. Every detail was covered and we didn't lack a single thing. We are pleased to give an enthusiastic two thumbs up on this one!
View Property: Green-River-Sanctuary
Lexington, US
Reviewed: May 31, 2017
Property
I'm a BIG fan of Green River Sanctuary! I have stayed at the Green River Sanctuary three times. It is by far my favorite place to find rest and relaxation. The cabin is beautiful and comfortable. I love to walk through the woods or sit beside the Green River which runs through the property. It is far enough from town to get the full effect of the forest sounds yet close enough to run to town for dinner. I always check to see if the Green River Sanctuary is available before I book a trip to North Carolina. I have recommended it to my friends and I look forward to my time there whenever I am able to make it out there. Like the name says, it is a sanctuary. It is a place where I can do as much or as little as I please. The house is beautiful. The property is beautiful. And the relaxation I find there is not matched anywhere else I have found.
View Property: Green-River-Sanctuary
Reviewed: May 9, 2017
Property Manager
Overall, it was a great experience.
Property
The cottage was very nice. It was clean, very well maintained, and had a very charming and welcoming feel. Although a bit on a the small side, we (4 adults and 2 children) adjusted accordingly. As mentioned in previous reviews, there are a lot of stairs not only in the house but down to the water which could be an issue for older folks and for our old yellow lab. The kitchen was well equipped, the refrigerator appeared brand new, and the gas grill was great. The multiple outdoor decks were very nice and the views of the lake were stunning. We rented paddleboards from Lake Lure Adventure Company and enjoyed the kayaks that came with the house. Overall, it was a great experience.
View Property: Alluring-Lake-Cottage
Reviewed: Apr 11, 2017
Property
A little heaven on earth... My husband and I had the privilege of celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary at Green River Sanctuary. It was amazing! The drive up to the cabin was breathtaking. It sits overlooking a pond filled with wildlife and the most beautiful, lush patch of woods. Deer and turkey share the grounds and add to the peacefulness of this retreat. There are hiking trails and historical markers all around the area. The accommodations, decor, home layout were perfect. (It would be a great place for a family reunion!) We took a side-trip to Tennessee in addition to enjoying multiple local tourist attractions. Would return for another visit in a heartbeat!!
View Property: Green-River-Sanctuary

What Our Guests Are Saying